Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry


The commonly-known Seven Ancient Wonders of the World were all man-made monuments, selected by Philon of Byzantium in 200 BC.
His choice was essentially a travel guide for fellow Athenians, and the stunning sites were all located around the Mediterranean basin, the then-known world.
The monuments he chose, to be remembered in perpetuity, were:

The Lighthouse of Alexandria
The Temple of Artemis
The Statue of Zeus
The Colossus of Rhodes
The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus
The Pyramids of Egypt

All had been built between 2500 BC and 200 BC. But today, only the Pyramids at Giza remain.
Now, just as Pierre de Coubertin revived the Olympic Games in 1896, with his modern version of the competition, N7W Founder Bernard Weber is seeking to revive the concept of the Seven Worldwide Wonders with this massive global campaign, the New 7 Wonders of the World.

The major difference is that, this time around, they will not be chosen by one man, but by millions of people all over the world.
They will be the people’s choice, and they will be drawn from the earliest time that Man walked on Earth up to the year 2000.
It is therefore possible that the only survivor of the original Wonders, the Pyramids in Giza, could be chosen and re-confirmed for a second time!

Now, the campaign is in its final stages and the experts have consider the 77 sites with the highest number of votes and drew up a shortlist of 21. They were announced on January 1, 2006 and are going forward for the final year of public voting, before the winning seven locations are announced on January 1, 2007.

Among the sites under consideration:

Athens, Greece

Eiffel Tower
Paris, France

Great Wall

Kremlin / St. Basil, Moscow, Russia

Neuschwanstein Castle, Füssen, Germany

Taj Mahal, Agra